College Baseball Foundation - Brooks Wallace Award - Watchlist

Brooks Wallace Award Watchlist Narrowed to 25

  • Wallace Watch May 5 (119kb)

    The quarterfinalists for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award were released today by the College Baseball Hall of Fame. The list features 25 of the nation’s finest Division I shortstops.


    The Wallace Award, sponsored by Mizuno, recognizes the nation’s top shortstop and will be presented on July 3 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.


    “These players highlight another outstanding group of shortstops,” said Tyler Young, Wallace Award co-chair. “The players feature very good offensive statistics combined with outstanding defense.”


    The watch list features shortstops from 15 conferences, with the ACC and SEC leading the pack with four representatives each.


    Four of the nation’s top 10 batting averages are represented on the list, including the nation’s leading hitter, Chad Zurcher of Memphis. Zurcher also has been very good defensively with only six errors.


    Regarded by many as two of the top defensive shortstops in the country entering the season, Brandon Loy of the University of Texas and LSU’s Austin Nola appear on the list.


    “Shortstop is a premium defensive position and we pay close attention to defensive play,” said Kevin Dunagan, Wallace Award co-chair. “The task of reducing the nation’s shortstops down to 25 is not simple.”


    Name           School          Conference
    Brad Miller    Clemson    ACC
    Jacob Esch    Georgia Tech    ACC
    Chris Diaz    NC State    ACC
    Chris Taylor    Virginia    ACC
    Brandon Loy    Texas     Big XII
    Kelby Tomlinson    Texas Tech    Big XII
    Joe Panik    St. John’s    Big East
    Sam Roberts    Virginia Military    Big South
    DJ Crumlich    UC Irvine    Big West
    David Herbek    James Madison     Colonial
    Chad Zurcher    Memphis    CUSA
    Alex Jones    Northern Illinois    MAC
    Sean Jamieson    Canisius    Metro-Atlantic
    Taylor Featherston    TCU    Mtn West
    Kenny Diekroeger    Stanford    Pac 10
    Devon Marrero    Arizona State    Pac 10
    Clint Moore    Army    Patriot
    Austin Nola    LSU    SEC
    Nolan Fontana    Florida    SEC
    Anthony Gomez    Vanderbilt    SEC
    Peter Mooney    South Carolina    SEC
    Eric Phillips    Georgia Southern    Southern
    Bo Cuthbertson    Southern Utah    Summit
    Nick DelGuidice    Florida Atlantic    Sunbelt
    Adam Bryant    Troy    Sunbelt



Excuse our mess

We are working diligently to improve our site. But from time to time there may be a few bugs so we ask that you bear with us.

CBF Podcast

The official podcast of the College Baseball Foundation hosted by Raymond Richardson & Mike Gustafson.

National All-Star Lineup

The 2010 college baseball season is here. Now is the time to nominate players for the 2010 National All-star Lineup.

Nominate A Player